The Diocese of Wrexham covers North Wales - the areas surrounding Caernarfon, Colwyn Bay, Dolgellau, Flint, Rhyl and of course, Wrexham. The diocesan Bishop is the Rt Rev Peter Brignall. Here you can read a short biography of the Bishop and find out more about the the Cathedral Church of Our Lady of Sorrows in the town. The Cathedral was built as a Parish Church in 1857 at the height of the Gothic Revival and, like a number of 19th century Catholic Cathedrals, was designed by Edward Pugin.

You can also visit the Diocese of Wrexham's website.


Brignall, Peter

The Rt Rev Peter M. Brignall is Bishop of Wrexham. Born in Whetstone, London in July 1953, Mgr Brignall was ordained to the priesthood on 18 February 1978. Read more

Mother Church


The Cathedral Church of Our Lady of Sorrows known as Wrexham Cathedral is in Wrexham, North Wales. It is the seat of the Bishop of Wrexham. The cathedral was...Read more


Contact the Diocese

Bishop's House, Sontley Road, Wrexham, LL13 7EW

0197 826 2726