East Anglia

The Diocese of East Anglia spans the Counties of Norfolk, Suffolk, Cambridgeshire and the Unitary Authority of Peterborough. It was formed by Papal decree on 13 March 1976. The diocese is twinned with the Apostolic Prefecture of Battambang in Cambodia, and the Latin Patriarchate of Jerusalem.

The Bishop is the Right Reverend Alan Hopes. Here you can read a short biography of the Bishop and find out more about the Cathedral Church of St John the Baptist in Norwich.

You can also visit the Diocese of East Anglia's website.


Hopes, Alan

The Right Reverend Alan Hopes is the Bishop of East Anglia. Born in Oxford in March 1944, Bishop Hopes was ordained priest in the Church of England in 1968 a...Read more

Mother Church


The Cathedral of St John the Baptist is a fine example of the great Victorian Gothic Revival. Until 1976 when it became the Cathedral of the new Diocese of E...Read more

East Anglia

Contact the Diocese

The White House, 21 Upgate, Poringland, Norwich, NR14 7SH

0150 849 2202