The Diocese of Brentwood was created in 1917 and comprises the Administrative County of Essex, the unitary authorities of Southend-on-Sea and Thurrock, and the London Boroughs of Barking & Dagenham, Havering, Newham, Redbridge and Waltham Forest.

The Bishop is the Right Reverend Alan Williams SM. Here you can read a short biography of the Bishop and also find out more about the Cathedral Church of St Mary and St Helen in the town of Brentwood.

You can also visit the Diocese of Brentwood's website.


Williams, Alan

The Right Reverend Alan Williams SM is the Bishop of Brentwood. Born in Oldham in 1951, Bishop Williams took final vows in the Society of Mary (Marist Father...Read more

Mother Church


The Cathedral Church of St Mary and St Helen lies in the town of Brentwood in the county of Essex. The first church to be built on the site was erected in 18...Read more


Contact the Diocese

Cathedral House, Ingrave Road, Brentwood, Essex, CM15 8AT

01277 232266