About Us

The Catholic Bishops' Conference of England and Wales is the permanent assembly of Catholic Bishops and Personal Ordinaries in the two member countries. The membership of the Conference comprises the Archbishops, Bishops and Auxiliary Bishops of the 22 Dioceses within England and Wales, the Bishop of the Forces (Military Ordinariate), the Apostolic Eparch of the Ukrainian Church in Great Britain, the Ordinary of the Personal Ordinariate of Our Lady of Walsingham, and the Apostolic Prefect of the Falkland Islands. Read more

bishops' work


The departments, agencies and offices of the Catholic Bishops' Conference of England and Wales work across a number of diverse subject areas from bioethics,... Read more


The Bishops

In this section, you will find profiles of our diocesan bishops and retired bishops as well as the Apostolic Nuncio to Great Britain - the Holy Father's repr... Read more



The Catholic Church in England and Wales is made up of 22 dioceses. A Diocese refers to a community of the Christian faithful in communion of faith and sacra... Read more